My Figure Collection 2011 – Part 2: Robots and Riders

Hello folks! This is the second part in my collection post series where I share pictures of most of my mecha and hero action figures. Enjoy!

Afro Gunso!

When I was in High School I first collected Marvel Legends action figures, but as a huge fan of Gundam and mecha anime in general I started getting Gundam MSiA (Mobile Suits in Action) figures. This shifted the direction my collection was taking from comic book related stuff to anime figures and statues.

Here are pics of my MSiA shelf where I display my Gundam action figures.

The MSiA shelf

Bandai's Trans Model Eureka Seven figures

Ace units from Gundam Seed/Seed Destiny - Justice Gundam, Freedom Gundam, Destiny Gundam and Providence Gundam

Gundam Seed/Seed Destiny MSiA's

From Z Gundam - Zeta Gundam, Quebeley, Hyaku Shiki and The O

Z Gundam MSiA's

Mobile Suits of the greatest rivals in Gundam - Amuro Ray and Char Aznable. Amuro's Nu Gundam and RX-78-2 Gundam, and Char's Sazabi and MS-06S Zaku II

One Year War MSiA's

Now on to the wall shelves!

First up is the Kamen Rider shelf. I grew up watching Kamen Rider Black which was shown at a local channel, and only got back into watching Tokusatsu when Kamen Rider Kabuto went on air a few years back. These figures are from Bandai’s Souchaku Henshin and SH Figuarts lines.

SH Figuarts is Bandai’s premiere articulated action figure line which is quite popular nowadays because of their amazing detail and great poseability. The Souchaku Henshin line is a precursor to the SH Figuarts line which has removeable die-cast armor parts but weird body proportions, especially when you take off  the helmet.

Kamen Rider Shelf

Kamen Rider Black and Kamen Rider Black RX

From the movie "Kamen Rider The Next" - Kamen Rider 2, Kamen Rider V3 and Kamen Rider 1

Kamen Rider Kabuto and Kamen Rider Gattack

From the Souchaku Henshin line: the many forms of Kamen Rider Den-O and Kamen Rider Zeronos from "Kamen Rider Den-O". The Den-O Souchaku Henshin line is the first time the body proportions have changed to a more accurate representation of the human body.

Souchaku Henshin Kamen Rider Kiva

Kamen Rider Decade

From "Kamen Rider W" - Kamen Rider Double's main forms: Luna Trigger, Cyclone Joker and Heat Metal

Kamen Rider Accel from "Kamen Rider W"

Souchaku Henshin Armed Hibiki from "Kamen Rider Hibiki".

Souchaku Henshin Kamen Rider Blade King Form from "Kamen Rider Blade"

Souchaku Henshin Hibiki Kurenai from "Kamen Rider Hibiki"

Another shot of the Den-O riders

The next level in my wall display is the “Super Robot Wars” shelf which contains my Revoltech and Robot Damashii collection. Mostly it’s just mecha and super robots from various shows in one shelf. I haven’t been able to update this shelf since the last collection post though, but I’m planning on shifting my focus to mecha figures in the later half of the year to bolster their numbers.

Super Robot Wars!

From the left: Dix-Neuf from "Top wo Nerae 2! Diebuster", King Gainer from "Overman King Gainer", Lancelot from "Code Geass" and Laevatein from "Full Metal Panic!"

Gundam Exia from "Mobile Suit Gundam 00", Genesic GaoGaiGar from "King of Braves GaoGaiGar Final" and Gurren Lagann and Lazengan from "Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann"

Mazinkaiser, Shin Getter 1, GaoFighGar, Evangelion 01 Type-F and Enki

I’m also a big fan of Transformers! As a kid I never got a G1 Transformer toy, so when the Transformers Classics line came out in 2006 I saw it as a chance to get into collecting Transformers figures.

Transformers

The heroic Autobots

The evil Decepticons

Autobots

Decepticons

And finally, the collection that started it all – Marvel Legends! Toybiz’s Marvel Legends line defined the modern standard of action figures which combined high amounts of articulation with detailed sculpts and paint applications.  They also started the ingenious Build-a-Figure concept where each figure in the wave came with a part to build a larger figure.

The line was very successful, but during the last Toybiz waves and when the Marvel license switched to Hasbro the quality of Marvel Legends figures started to deteriorate (due in part to the increasing amount of oil needed for paint) and I stopped collecting them. Lately though, Hasbro has improved with their limited Marvel Legends figure releases and they’ve hinted that the line will come back again by next year. For more information on Marvel Legends, check out this wiki entry.

The X-Men

Avengers and Galactus

Spiderman with his allies and villains

Well, that’s it for part 2 of my Collection series. At part 3, I’ll share pictures of the main shelf which houses my Anime PVC figure collection. Watch out for it!

All pictures were taken with a Panasonic Lumix LX3.

4 thoughts on “My Figure Collection 2011 – Part 2: Robots and Riders

  1. Hello Snacks,

    You have a serious collection and very complete if you ask me. I’ll be waiting for the anime PVC collection, your Miku Hatsune is so pretty, so I can’t wait to see the rest of the figures.

    Anyway, I’m wondering if you might be interested in a link exchange, I admin a blog directory and would you to have your blog there, let me know if you’re interested.

    Cathy

Leave a Reply

